Women's Cycling

2020 Women’s Spring Classics Race Dates and Favourites

Just like the men’s peloton, in the early part of 2020, there are a collection of races known as the spring classics. The women’s cycling calendar loosely follows the men’s, however, there are some differences. There’s no women’s Milan San Remo for instance. But they do have their own well-established Italian classic in Alfredo Binda. No Kuurne Brussels Kuurne either, Omloop van het Hageland is the women’s equivalent. And so on and so on!

Lots of different road surfaces are covered though. Some are on regular roads, one takes place on white gravel roads and all of them have some brutal hills involved. I’ve previously made the trip to Belgium to see and report on a few races like Gent -Wevelgem and the Tour of Flanders.

I’ve also been able to experience some of the cobbled sections and climbs that make up the toughest sections of these races. Listed are all the other main races that make up the Women’s Spring Classics period.

Women’s Spring Classics 2020 Dates

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad – Vrouwen Elite
29th February 2020
Last Winner: Chantal Blaak
Suits: Puncheurs and Powerful riders
Photos from 2019’s race
2020 Race Preview

Spar – Omloop van het Hageland
1st March 2020
Last Winner: Marta Bastianelli
Suits: Sprinters and Puncheurs
2020 Race Preview

Strade Bianche
7th March 2020
Last Winner: Annemiek van Vleuten
Suits: Puncheurs, Powerful Climbers

Drentse Acht van Westerveld
13th March 2020
Last Winner: Audrey Cordon-Ragot
Suits: Sprinters

Ronde van Drenthe
15th March 2020
Last Winner: Marta Bastianelli
Suits: Punchers and powerful Sprinters

Nokere Koerse
18th March 2020
Last Winner: Lorena Wiebes
Suits: Sprinters and Puncheurs

Omloop van de Westhoek
22nd March 2020
Last Winner: Floortje Mackaij
Suits: Sprinters and Puncheurs

Trofeo Alfredo Binda
22nd March 2020
Last Winner: Marianne Vos
Suits: Puncheurs and powerful Sprinters

Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne
26th March 2020
Last Winner: Kirsten Wild
Suits: Sprinters

Gent – Wevelgem
29th March 2020
Last Winner: Kirsten Wild
Suits: Puncheurs and Powerful Sprinters
Photos from 2018’s race and 2019’s race

Dwars Door Vlaanderen
1st April 2020
Last Winner: Ellen van Dijk
Suits: Puncheurs

Tour of Flanders
5th April 2020
Last Winner: Marta Bastianelli
Suits: Puncheurs and Powerful Riders
Photos from 2018’s race

Brabantse Pijl
15th April 2020
Last Winner: Sofie de Vuyst
Suits: Puncheurs

Omloop van Borsele
25th April 2020
Last Winner: Lorena Wiebes
Suits: Sprinters

Amstel Gold Race Ladies
19th April 2020
Last Winner: Katarzyna Niewiadoma
Suits: Puncheurs, Powerful Climbers
Photos from 2019’s race

La Fleche Wallonne Féminine
22nd April 2020
Last Winner: Anna van der Breggen
Suits: Powerful Climbers
Photos from 2019’s race

Liege – Bastogne – Liege Femmes
26th April 2020
Last Winner: Annemiek Van Vleuten
Suits: Powerful Climbers

Niewiadoma, Deignan and Moolman, Fleche Wallonne 2019

One Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.