Tagged: Degenkolb

All my posts that mention John Degenkolb in some way.

Brussels Cycling Classic Logo

Brussels Cycling Classic 2018 Preview – Tips, Contenders, Profile

The Brussels Cycling Classic is a well-established late-season race that often ends up in a sprint finish. Previous winners include the likes of Andre Greipel, Belgian legend Tom Boonen, Arnaud Demare, Dylan Groenewegen and Robbie McEwen (who won this race 5 times) – basically a who’s who of sprinting. The entries this year are again very sprint heavy so expect more of the same in...

Paris Roubaix 2018 Photos

I’ve been lucky enough to catch a lot of races abroad this spring, my trips to Spring Classics ended with a visit to Paris Roubaix to see the pros take on the Hell of the North. The race gets its name from the shocking state of the French countryside after the First World War. The brutality of the cobbled sectors also helps give it that...

Gent – Wevelgem 2018 Preview – Tips, Contenders, Profile

Gent – Wevelgem is a race where the puncheurs do battle with the sprinters to make it a tough enough race to not be a bunch sprint at the end. Traditionally, winners here are the punchy sprinters, every now and again the out and out puncheur gets themself a win (e.g. Paolini in 2015 and Eisel in 2010). It depends if any sprinters can keep...

Greg van Avermaet & Philippe Gilbert on the Varent section - E3 Harelbeke 2017 Mathew Mitchell

E3 Harelbeke 2018 Preview – Tips, Contenders, Profile

E3 Harelbeke, known as the Little Tour of Flanders, is an ideal warm-up for the main event itself – the Ronde van Vlaanderen itself. The route covers many of the same cobbled hellingen (hills to English speakers), particularly the Oude Kwaremont, the Paterberg and the Taaienberg. The last two riders to do ‘the double’ were the kings of Flanders themselves, Tom Boonen and Fabian Cancellara...

2015 Andre Greipel TDF Stage 2 Sprint Victory

Tour de France 2017 Sprinters • Green Jersey Favourites

The Green Jersey is the coveted prize for all the sprinters in the Tour de France. The ‘maillot verte’ has been wrapped up by Peter Sagan in recent years, with 5 straight wins. During the Tour de France 2017, he will be looking to match the achievements of Erik Zabel who won 6 in a row during the 1990s. The battle for ‘unofficial fastest sprinter...

2015 E3 Harelbeke Logo

E3 Harelbeke 2017 Photos

As part of my trip to Belgium, I did the Gent – Wevelgem Cyclo Sportive and the Fabian Cancellara Classic. I also got to take in a pro race – E3 Harelbeke. Below are a selection of the best pictures I took.