Home » Trek-Segafredo ready for Virtual Tour de France

Trek-Segafredo ready for Virtual Tour de France

Loading...

It wouldn’t be July without the Tour de France! ASO and Zwift have joined forces to host the first-ever Virtual Tour de France for men and women that includes six days of racing, each Saturday and Sunday between July 4 – 19.

Trek-Segafredo is excited to take part in the Virtual Tour de Frane and has fielded competitive men’s and women’s teams, including World Champion Mads Pedersen, 2019 yellow jersey wearer Giulio Ciccone, and former World Champion Lizzie Deignan.

 

The event is part of the Tour de France United, a charity initiative in celebration of the Tour de France that will run until the conclusion of the rescheduled Tour de France in August. Cycling fans from all over the world will have the chance to ride the Virtual l’Étape du Tour de France on the same weekends.

 

Twenty-three professional teams will participate in the men’s competition, and 17 professional women’s teams are confirmed; both men and women will tackle identical courses over the same distances. The races will last around an hour and include two mountain stages, two flat courses, and two hilly stages to suit every type of rider. Unlike a traditional Grand Tour, the four-rider teams will be allowed to swap riders to suit the parcours of specific stages.

 

For this maiden Virtual Tour de France, Zwift has created new courses on French roads, including Stage 5, dubbed the Queen stage, which finishes on the iconic Mont Ventoux. The race will conclude with the famed Champs-Élysées circuit.

Loading...

Mads Pedersen will take part in Stage one Saturday.

 

Classification

 

At the end of each stage, the first 25 riders to cross the finish line will earn points. Points scored by all four riders on a team will be pooled and accumulated over the six stages of the race. The team with the most points will be the holder of the yellow jersey, which will be worn by that team’s designated captain.

 

More leader’s jerseys will be up for grabs: the green jersey to the team leading the points classification, the polka dot jersey will be held by the team leading the mountains classification, and the best young rider and best team classification will also be selected.

 

How To Watch

 

A free live stream of the Virtual Tour de France will be available on Zwift’s website. American viewers can watch all the action on NBC Sports Gold while Canadians will be able to stream via FloBikes. On social media, look for free live broadcasts on Trek-Segafredo’s Facebook page.

Elisa Longo Borghini will take on both Stages 1 and 2 this weekend.

VIRTUAL TOUR DE FRANCE STAGES – MEN & WOMEN

Saturday, 4 July – Stage 1 – Watopia, Hilly (reverse) – Hilly/Flat – 36.4km (22.8mi)

 

Women’s race (52 min): 15:00 (CEST) / 06:00 (PDT) / 08:00 (CDT)

  • Trixi Worrack
  • Elisa Longo Borghini
  • Lauretta Hanson
  • Abi Van Twisk

 

Men’s race (47 min): 16:05 (CEST) / 07:05 (PDT) / 09:05 (CDT)

  • Mads Pedersen
  • Emils Liepins
  • Ryan Mullen
  • Michel Ries

  

Sunday, 5 July – Stage 2 -Watopia, Mountain – Smaller Mountain – 29.5km (18.3mi)

 

Women’s race (50 min): 15:02 (CET) / 06:02 (PDT) / 08:02 (CDT)

  • Ellen Van Dijk
  • Elisa Longo Borghini
  • Audrey Cordon-Ragot
  • Anna Plichta

 

Men’s race (45 min): 16:07 (CET) / 07:07 (PDT) / 09:07 (CDT)

  • Giulio Ciccone
  • Nicola Conci
  • Niklas Eg
  • Julien Bernard

 

It wouldn’t be July without the Tour de France.

Saturday, 11 July – Stage 3 – France, R.G.V. – Flat – 48km (29.8mi)

 

Women’s race (65 min): 14:47 (CET) / 05:47 (PDT) / 07:47 (CDT)

Men’s race (60 min): 15:52 (CET) / 06:52 (PDT) / 08:52 (CDT)

 

Sunday, 12 July – Stage 4 – France, Casse-Pattes – Hilly – 45.8km (28.6mi)

 

Women’s race (65 min): 14:47 (CET) / 05:47 (PDT) / 07:47 (CDT)

Men’s race (60 min): 15:52 (CET) / 06:52 (PDT) / 08:52 (CDT)

 

Saturday, 18 July – Stage 5 – France, Chalet Reynard – Mountain – 22.9km (14.2mi)

 

Women’s race (59 min): 14:53 (CET) / 05:53 (PDT) / 07:53 (CDT)

Men’s race (54 min): 15:58 (CET) / 06:58 (PDT) / 08:58 (CDT)

 

Sunday, 19 July – Stage 6 – France, Champs-Élysées – Paris – 45.8km (28.6mi)

 

Women’s race (59 min): 14:50 (CET) / 05:50 (PDT) / 07:50 (CDT)

Men’s race (54 min): 15:55 (CET) / 06:55 (PDT) / 08:55 (CDT)

 

 

Note: Our women’s and men’s team rosters will be announced a few days before each stage. 

Source

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.